Free online seminar – Bringing Learning to Life through Service Learning

Free Online Seminar

Bring Learning to Life: Reaching, Teaching, and Engaging Adolescents through Service-Learning with Cathryn Berger Kaye

  • January 22, 3:00 PM eastern/2:00 PM central/1:00 PM mountain/12 noon pacific
  • January 23, 6:00 PM eastern/5:00 PM central/4:00 PM mountain/3:00 PM pacific

from: NSLP CONNECTIONS

Across the United States, middle school students are transforming their ideas, energy, and enthusiasm into civic action connected to their academic learning. The process? Service-learning. When students are given opportunities to apply content knowledge and skills to address pressing community needs, they begin to see classroom learning as having purpose and relevance to the world in which they live. Learning comes to life.

Cathryn Berger Kaye, M.A., is an international education consultant and author of The Complete Guide to Service Learning, the Service Learning Series for Kids, and a new curriculum — Strategies for Success with Literacy: A Learning Curriculum that Serves (www.abcdbooks.org).

The seminar will take place on NSLP Connections, an online learning community sponsored by the National Service-Learning Partnership. You must be a member of NSLP Connections in order to participate in the seminar. Membership is free and enrollment is easy. By joining NSLP Connections, you can make the connections and build the relationships you need to advance service-learning your own school and community.

Leave a Reply